Welcome, visitor! [ Register | Loginrss  |  tw

Jason101, Derk/Derek Christopher SCAM TOOK PAYMENT WILL NOT RESPOND TO EMAILS | Report a Seller | Forum

You must be logged in to post
Search Forums:


 






Wildcard Usage:
*    matches any number of characters
%    matches exactly one character

Jason101, Derk/Derek Christopher SCAM TOOK PAYMENT WILL NOT RESPOND TO EMAILS

2012-02-09 8:34 pm


md519

New Member

posts 2

Post edited 11:10 pm – 2012-02-10 by md519


User; Jason101 aka Derk/Derek Christopher
Email; dere_ch12@hotmail.com & dere_chi12@hotmail.com
Currently selling a 1945 Springfield Garand for $800

Exchanged emails with the above person, he sent me pictures of the rifle, along with a picture of his PAL. Said he lives in NFLD, gave me a phone number in AB. Exchanged all info with said person, sent EMT to him, now he won't respond to emails and will not answer his phone.

Uses 2 emails, says his name is "Derk" but goes by "Derek".

He took my money and is gone.

BEWARE.

POLICE REPORT FILED – WINDSOR POLICE SERVICE

ALL INFORMATION IS ERRONEOUS.

Info on PAL
DERK CHRISTOPHER (only first letters are capitalized)
D.O.B. – 1972/06/07
EYES – Blue
HEIGHT – 178cm
EXP. DATE – 2017/06/07
PAL # 12535387

ADDRESS
48 Bank Road
Eastport, NL
A0G1Z0

S/N of Springfield M1 Garand
3873409

PHONE NUMBER
587-838-6174

This is the add;

http://www.firearmscanada.com/…..ringfield/

2012-02-11 1:12 am


md519

New Member

posts 2

Could the moderators please provide me with IP address affiliated with the add?

I will forward it to Windsor Police. Please feel free to contact me for further information.

2012-02-11 3:39 am


ceilingcat

Member

posts 6

md591 I am very sorry that this happened to you. I too responded to his ad and felt very compelled to buy his rifle as it looked like a very good deal, however I was cautious to begin with and asked him to see photos, then did not respond. To my surprise he emailed me back asking me are you still interested after a day or two. This was extremely unusual as given the rifle's condition it would have been a steal. I responded saying that I am in fact interested, and asked him if the price was firm, where he got it (at this point I treated as a scam). He said he owned it for 6 months and the price was firm. I then stopped responding and surprise surprise two days later he emailed me again saying are you still interested? at this point I knew what was up as this rifle should have been sold on day 1, theres no way he wanted me to buy this rifle this badly. Yet again I responded and I asked him to give me a picture of the rifle with my name on paper and his full information so i can cross reference. He then stopped responding to me.

I wanted to report this seller but did not feel the need to.. since he's obviously succeeded I feel regretful that I did not alert the forums earlier.

anyway I hope some good comes out of this for you in the end

2012-02-11 5:53 am


md519

New Member

posts 2

Post edited 1:01 am – 2012-02-12 by md519


Well the post is gone. So at least no one else will get scammed.

2012-02-11 5:40 pm


ceilingcat

Member

posts 6

I dont really have a case to report as I dont really have any direct evidence, but lets hope he gets tracked down… as for emt I'm not sure if its possible to trace it since it goes through interac.

Has anyone actually gotten ripped off by emt and had the situation work out in their favour? on the forum I only see people getting scammed and having no recourse, its sad to see.

Anyway dont get discouraged from buying selling here,I never believed in dealing over the internet until I've sold a rifle on here which turned out just fine. I have also bought a rifle from this site as well.

2012-02-13 1:48 pm


darkshadow

Moderator

posts 39

Post edited 5:38 pm – 2012-02-13 by darkshadow


Hello. I am sorry to say the IP address is not in Canada.

Country: United States
State/Region: South Carolina
City: Columbia
Latitude: 34.0391
Longitude: -80.9882
Area Code: 803

Ad should never haven been published with an IP address from the U.S.

Did you call him to confirm and ask for more information? That is always the wise thing to do, and also do a 411.ca check to verify he lives at the address he mentioned.

If the deal is too good to be true, it generally is. Too bad you sent the funds.

My recommendation has always been for the buyer to start the transfer. When firearm is proven legitimate, and PAl holder of seller is legitimate, then send the funds.

2012-02-16 1:56 pm


rifles

New Member

posts 2

I have been scammed by the same S.O.B
Sent him half the asking price and have heard back from since. Said he was from Labrador and will not respond to my emails. The last email I received he had told me the rifle was in the mail, but I have not received anything.
md519 do you have the police actively tracking him? I plan on filing a report as well.

2012-03-28 2:08 pm


fretman57

Ponoka, Alberta

New Member

posts 0

Sounds like a trip to South Carolina is in order for some debt collection? Mind if I come along I love seeing justice in action.

No Tags